Malawi is a landlocked country in southeast Africa. It is bordered by Mozambique, Tanzania, and Zimbabwe. The Great Rift Valley runs through the country, and to the east of the valley lies Lake Nyasa. The government system is a multiparty democracy; the chief of state and head of government is the president.